Mcgregor Holding Lightweight and Featherweight BeltsMcgregor 

Conor Mcgregor Record

Conor Antony McGregor is the reigning UFC Lightweight Champion and former UFC Featherweight Champion. During his career, McGregor has competed as a featherweight, lightweight, and welterweight.McGregor first competed in Mixed Martial Arts in 2008, his debut fight against Gary Morris by TKO in round two. Mo Taylor was next to face McGregor and was defeated in round one. McGregor faced his first of only three ever defeats in June 2008 and he lost to Artemij Sitenkov in his featherweight debut. Sitenkov pinned McGregor with a knee bar and McGregor had no alternative than to accept defeat.

With two successive wins following his defeat, in November 2010, McGregor stepped up to face Joseph Duffy at Lightweight. McGregor lost this fight, Duffy securing an arm-triangle choke forcing a submission from McGregor.

In June 2012 McGregor tasted his first real success as he defeated Dave Hill to win the Cage Warriors Featherweight Championship. Just less than six months later McGregor stepped back into the Octagon, this time to face Ivan Buchinger for the Cage Warriors Lightweight Championship. McGregor made no mistake and knocked Buchinger out inside the first round to win his second belt of his career.

Conor McGregor Signs with UFC

McGregor switched affiliations in February 2013, signing for the Ultimate Fighting Championship (UFC). McGregor’s first UFC opponent was Marcus Brimage, a man McGregor knocked out in the first round on the Undercard of the UFC on Fuel TV Mousasi vs. Latifi show. Fast forward to July 11th, 2015 and McGregor having successfully defeated four other opponents faced up against Chad Mendes for the interim UFC Featherweight Championship. In the last few seconds of the second round, McGregor let rip a flurry of punches, knocking out Mendes to become champion.

Next up was José Aldo, a fighter UFC fans considered far too strong and powerful for McGregor. McGregor answered his doubters in emphatic style, knocking Aldo out in thirteen seconds of the first round. Winning and unifying the UFC Featherweight Championship.

McGregor was scheduled to fight Rafael dos Anjos for the UFC Lightweight Championship on 5 March 2016 at UFC 196. However, just a few weeks before the fight, Anjos withdrew from the fight due to a broken foot he damaged in training. Both former UFC Featherweight Champion José Aldo, who refused the bout due to “lack of time” to prepare for the bout, and former UFC Lightweight Champion and #2 ranked featherweight, Frankie Edgar, who cited a groin injury were offered the fight. Instead, and with just thirteen days’ notice, Nate Diaz, the Ultimate Fighter Season 5 winner, and former UFC Lightweight Championship challenger stepped up to take the fight. McGregor allowed the fight to take place at 170-pounds, as with such short notice it would not have been practical to expect Diaz to trim down to 155-pounds. McGregor was adamant he would embarrass Diaz inside the ring, however, Diaz had other ideas and secured a rear naked choke in the second round as McGregor gave up his back. McGregor tapped to the submission at 4:12 into the second round and was left without answers for all his fans! This was McGregor’s first UFC defeat and ended his winning streak of 15 consecutive wins.

McGregor avenged this defeat in August 2016, as he won a majority decision verdict against Diaz. Many fight fans questioned the decision and were left wondering why McGregor was awarded victory as Diaz set about McGregor throughout the fight. Will there be a third and deciding fight in the future, only time will tell.

Eddie Alvarez was the next name in the limelight to face McGregor. The fight was scheduled for November 12th, less than three months away from McGregor’s victory over Diaz. With normal McGregor, service resumed the trash talking was in full flow leading up to the fight, and McGregor delivered all he said he would, winning the UFC Lightweight Championship, stopping Alvarez in the second round.

McGregor will next face Floyd Mayweather inside a boxing ring on August 26th, 2017. Many fight fans have ridiculed this fight and have dismissed it as the mismatch of the century. McGregor has his own view and has told the world, he is the future of boxing!

Conor McGregor UFC Record

Mar 8, Gary Morris – Win TKO (Punches) Round 2
May 3, Mo Taylor – Win TKO Round 1
Jun 28, Artemji Sitenkov – Loss Submission (Kneebar) Round 1
Dec 12, Stephen Bailey – Win TKO Round 1

Oct 9, Connor Dillon – Win TKO Round 1
Nov 27, Joseph Duffy – Loss Submission (Arm Triangle) Round 1

Feb 12, Hugh Brady – Win KO Round 1
Mar 12, Mike Wood – Win KO Round 1
Apr 16, Paddy Doherty – Win KO Round 1
Jun 11, Artur Sowinski – Win KO Round 2
Sep 8, Aaron Jahnsen – Win KO Round 1

Feb 18, Steve O’Keefe – Win KO Round 1
Jun 2, Dave Hill – Win Submission (Rear Naked Choke) Round 2
Dec 31, Ivan Buchinger – Win KO Round 1

Apr 6, Marcus Brimage – Win KO/TKO Round 1
Aug 17, Max Holloway – Win Decision – Unanimous Round 3

Jul 19, Diego Brandao – Win KO/TKO Round 1
Sep 27, Dustin Poirier – Win KO/TKO Round 1

Jan 18, Dennis Siver – Win KO/TKO Round 2
Jul 11, Chad Mendes – Win KO/TKO Round 2
Dec 12, Jose Aldo – Win KO/TKO Round 1

Mar 5, Nate Diaz – Loss Submission (Rear naked choke) Round 2
Aug 20, Nate Diaz – Win Decision – Majority Round 5
Nov 12, Eddie Alvarez – Win KO/TKO Round 2

Related posts

Leave a Comment